V8 Utes Title Up for Grabs as Harris Wins Race 1

Published: Saturday, December 6 2014
Category: Support Categories
Above: Race 1 winner Ryal Harris leading the field into turn 2. Above: Race 1 winner Ryal Harris leading the field into turn 2.
Ryal Harris has walked away with a Race 1 win for Round 8 of the 2014 Australian V8 Ute Racing Series – fuelled by Hogs Breath Café, at today’s Sydney NRMA 500, however series leader Kris Walton threw away a certain championship win after a last lap tangle with Nathan Pretty.

Harris led off what was an interesting start, and finished almost a second ahead of Rhys McNally’s Stratco Holden.

“The cars good, Kris (Walton) stalled on the start and I think I took off a little bit early but I stopped it before the line. I’m just going to keep my nose clean for the weekend and hopefully come away with the win,” said Harris.

Ryan Hansford came home in third after he made contact with David Sieders who was running second at the time, sending Walton’s series rival into the wall. Hansford was hit with a post-race 30 championship point penalty, while Sieders managed to hold onto valuable championship points coming home in 15th overall.

“I was sitting in second position, but made a mistake and let Rhys (McNally) past and Ryan (Hansford) - well I just don’t’ know what he’s done – he’s Walton’s team mate however I will give him the benefit of the doubt that it wasn’t a set up to give Walton the title,” said a frustrated Sieders.

Kim Jane had a good race and was able to hold out pressure from Nathan Pretty and Kris Walton, the Shark Bite Holden finishing in fourth.

Macmahon Racings’s Gerard McLeod and 17 year old Mason Barbera tried to go two wide around turn 1, Barbera’s Ford was squeezed into the wall ending his race, whilst McLeod bounced off the wall hitting Walton and also suffering extensive damage.

Nathan Pretty held onto sixth after he and Kris Walton made contact at turn 12, Walton throwing away a certain Championship win after he dropped back to tenth. The Rentco Ford driver could have walked away with the Series win, as he only needed to finish seven places ahead of Sieders. The two will continue to battle for the Series title tomorrow.

“I stalled at the start and started to work my way back through the field and tried for one more, I got passed Nathan (Pretty) and he tapped me and spun me around, Sieders looks like he had a bad run, so points wise I think we’re still good but just really annoyed about my mistake,” explained Walton.

Adam Marjoram stayed out of trouble and came home in seventh overall ahead of Jesus Racing’s Andrew Fisher in eighth. Jesse Dixon claimed ninth and is now out of the championship title race, however can still hold onto third.

Dixon had an unlucky start to the race when he was caught behind Walton, who stalled on the front of the grid and dropped back to 13th by the end of the first lap.

George Miedecke also stalled at the start from position nine, but was able to recuperate a few spots and came home just outside the top 12. Michael Almond will start on Pole alongside Elliot Barbour for race 2, who drove well from the back of the grid to finish the race in 11th. Barbour and teammate Craig Dontas were both disqualified from Qualifying for a technical infringement (Steering Rack infringement). Craig Dontas also drove well moving up 12 spots to finish in 14th for the Race.

Tomorrow will see the final two deciding races determine the 2014 ARMOR ALL Drivers Championship, however Sieders will need to win both races and Walton basically not finish either race for Sieders to claim the series win. Walton only needs 2 more points and the title is his.

Race 2 will kick off at 9:30am and will be televised in a delayed telecast at 12pm on 7Mate. Race 3 will be the final race of the year and also Miedecke’s 100th Race start with the drivers hitting the track at 2:15pm.

Race 1 Results:

1 1 All Purpose Pest Racing  Ryal Harris  Ford FG 1:45.9871
2 26 STRATCO Racing    Rhys McNally Holden VE 1:46.0698
3 6 Multispares Ryan Hansford  Ford FG  1:45.8426
4 27 Bob Jane T-Marts/Altenzo Tyres Kim Jane Holden VE  1:46.8747
5 67 JMG Racing Jeremy Gray  Ford FG 1:46.7677
6 56 GoPro Racing   Nathan Pretty   Holden VE 1:46.9231
7 5 Auto One Adam Marjoram  Holden VE 1:47.0888
8 9 Jesus Racing Team Andrew Fisher Ford FG 1:46.9223
9 49 Hayman Reese Racing Jesse Dixon Holden VE 1:46.6753
10 68 Rentco Transport Equipment Rentals Kris Walton Ford FG 1:45.9972

Click here to view full results from Race 1.

The points in the race for the championship now sit as follows:

1 Kris Walton 68 Rentco Transport Equipment Rentals 906
2 David Sieders 8 Qualify Me 838
3 Jesse Dixon 49 Hayman Reese Racing 792
4 Rhys McNally 26 STRATCO Racing    775

V8SFG on Facebook

V8SFG on Twitter

Latest News

LDM Announces Key Personnel Restructure

LDM Announces Key Personnel Restructure

Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport is gearing up for the 2015 season with key personnel changes within the team.Former ch...

Percat Signs Multi-Year Deal with LDM

Percat Signs Multi-Year Deal with LDM

Christmas has come a day early for rookie Bathurst 1000 winner Nick Percat, who has signed a multi-year contract...

Waters Retains DVS Seat and Enduro Co-Drive with FPR

Waters Retains DVS Seat and Enduro Co-Drive with FPR

Prodrive Racing (Australia) will again contest the Dunlop Series in 2015 with development driver Cameron Waters ...